Tools Of The Trade – Disk Cutters

Alene's Adornments Blog

I discovered this tool when taking a riveting class last year. I decided then and there that it would be my next tool purchase! It  cuts circles from metal. The brand you choose makes a difference. Some are made with better steel, enhancing the precision of the cut. I purchased the Pepe brand for my bench.

So you say. Big Deal. Who needs precise circles or holes in metal anyway? Most metalsmiths find this a useful tool for punching holes into metal for riveting or for design (or both). You can also use the circles as part of a design. The larger holed disc cutters provide circles up to 2″ diameter. And that can create the beginnings of a beautiful pendant… without sawing. Sawing has it’s place but it is difficult to be completely accurate when sawing a circle. Or I should say I have this difficulty!

As I add…

View original post 27 more words

Leave a Reply

